Academic ResourcesAcademic Catalog, Calendars, Student Policies & Gainful Employment

Academic Calendars

2016-2017 Academic Calendar

Traditional = Most courses are Daytime/On-campus; some are Evening/On-campus (course section numbers 1-99)
Cohort = Courses for major are Evening and delivery is Blended or Online (course section numbers 100-999)
SCS = School of Continuing Studies courses (course section number begins with X)

You are responsible for knowing what type of courses you are taking.

Fall Semester, 2016(201710)

August 26 – August 28: Move in days and “Welcome Week”
August 29, Monday: Traditional undergraduate classes begin
September 2, Friday: Last day to add a traditional full semester course
Last day to add or drop a traditional first half semester course without record
September 4, Sunday: Last day to add a cohort or SCS first half semester course
September 5, Monday: Labor Day, No traditional classes
September 5, Monday: Classes begin for cohort and SCS first half semester
September 11, Sunday: Last day to drop a first half cohort or SCS course without record

September 12, Monday: Last day to drop a traditional full semester course without record
Last day to add traditional internship or independent studies
October 3, Monday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional first half semester course (W)
October 9, Sunday: Last day to withdraw from a cohort or SCS first half semester course (W)
October 13-16, Thursday – Sunday: Fall Break, No traditional undergraduate classes
October 19, Wednesday: Midterm and end of first half semester courses (traditional)
Deadline for requesting a Pass/No Pass grade (traditional)
October 21, Friday: End of cohort and SCS first half semester courses
October 23, Sunday: Last day to add cohort and SCS second half semester courses

October 24, Monday: Second half traditional semester courses begin; Second half cohort and SCS courses begin
October 28, Friday: Last day to add or drop a traditional second half semester course without record
October 30, Sunday: Last day to drop a second half cohort or SCS course
November 9, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional full semester course (W)
November 20 – November 27, Sunday-Sunday: Thanksgiving Break – All Students
December 2, Friday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional second half semester course (W)
December 4, Sunday: Last day to withdraw from a cohort or SCS second half semester course (W)
December 16, Friday: Traditional Classes end; Cohort and SCS second half semester courses end
December 19 – 22, Monday – Thursday: Fall semester finals (traditional)
December 23, Friday: Residence hall move out day
December 22, Thursday: Cohort and SCS Grades due (12:00 noon)
December 24, 2016 – January 8, 2017: Semester Break, No classes
December 28, Wednesday: Traditional Grades due (12:00 noon)

Spring Semester, 2017(201720)

January 8, Sunday: Last day to add a cohort or SCS course
January 9, 2016, Monday: Classes begin (traditional, cohort & SCS)

January 13, Friday: Last day to add a traditional full semester course
Last day to add or drop a traditional first half semester course without record
January 16, Monday: Last day to drop a cohort or SCS course without record
January 16, Monday: Martin Luther King Day, No classes (all students)
January 23, Monday: Last day to drop a traditional full semester course without record, Last day to add internships and independent studies
February 13, Monday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional, cohort or SCS first half semester course (W)
February 24, Friday: Classes end for cohort and SCS first half semester
February 25 – March 5, Saturday – Sunday: Cohort and SCS break week

February 27, Monday: Midterm and end of traditional first half semester courses
Deadline for requesting a Pass/No Pass grade (traditional)
March 1, Wednesday: Second half traditional semester courses begin
March 5, Sunday: Last day to add a cohort or SCS second half semester course
March 6, Monday: Classes begin for cohort or SCS second half semester

March 7, Tuesday: Last day to add or drop a traditional second half semester course without record
March 11-19, Saturday – Sunday: Spring Break, No classes (Traditional)
March 12, Sunday: Last day to drop a Cohort or SCS course without record
March 27, Monday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional full semester course (W)
April 9-16, Sunday-Sunday: Cohort and SCS Easter Break, No classes
April 11, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional second half semester course (W)
April 13 – April 17, Thursday – Monday: Easter Break, No classes (Traditional)
April 16, Sunday: Last day to withdraw from a Cohort or SCS second half semester course (W)
April: Academic Honors Convocation – to be announced
April 28, Friday – All classes end (Cohort, SCS, and Traditional)
May 1 – 4, Monday – Thursday: Spring semester finals (Traditional)
May 5, Friday: Residence hall move out day
May 5, Friday: Grades due for cohort and SCS courses (12:00 noon)
May 5-6: Baccalaureate Service and Commencement Ceremonies – to be announced
May 10, Wednesday: Traditional grades due (12:00 noon)

Summer Semester 2017(201730)

The following schedule applies to Traditional, Cohort & SCS courses:
May 14, Sunday: Last day to add a first half semester course
May 15, Monday – June 30, Friday: First Half Summer Session
May 21, Sunday: Last day to drop a first half semester course without record
May 29, Monday – Memorial Day: University offices closed, No classes
June 18, Sunday: Last day to withdraw (W) from a first half semester course
July 2, Sunday – July 8, Saturday: Holiday week, No classes
July 9, Sunday: Last day to add a second half semester course
July 10, Monday – August 25, Friday: Second Half Summer Session
July 7, Friday – Grade due for first half summer session courses (12:00 noon)
July 16, Sunday: Last day to drop a second half semester course without record
August 13, Sunday: Last day to withdraw (W) from a second half semester course
September 1, Friday – Grades due for second half summer session courses (12:00 noon)

2017-2018 Academic Calendar

Deadlines apply for the type of course in which you are registered:

Traditional = Most courses are Daytime/On-campus; some are Evening/On-campus (course section numbers 1-99)
Cohort = Courses for major are Evening and delivery is Blended or Online (course section numbers 100-999)
SCS = School of Continuing Studies courses (course section number begins with X)

You are responsible for knowing what type of courses you are taking.

Fall Semester, 2017(201810)

August 25 – August 27: Move in days and “Welcome Week”
August 28, Monday: Traditional undergraduate classes begin
September 1, Friday: Last day to add a traditional full semester course
Last day to add or drop a traditional first half semester course without record
September 3, Sunday: Last day to add a cohort or SCS first half semester course
September 4, Monday: Labor Day, No traditional classes
September 4, Monday: Classes begin for cohort and SCS first half semester
September 10, Sunday: Last day to drop a first half cohort or SCS course without record
September 11, Monday: Last day to drop a traditional full semester course without record
September 11, Monday: Last day to add traditional internship or independent studies
October 2, Monday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional first half semester course (W)
October 8, Sunday: Last day to withdraw from a cohort or SCS first half semester course (W)
October 13-15, Friday – Sunday: Fall Break, No traditional undergraduate classes
October 18, Wednesday: Midterm and end of first half semester courses (traditional)
Deadline for requesting a Pass/No Pass grade (traditional)
October 20, Friday: End of cohort and SCS first half semester courses
October 22, Sunday: Last day to add cohort and SCS second half semester courses
October 23, Monday: Second half traditional semester courses begin; Second half cohort and SCS courses begin
October 27, Friday: Last day to add or drop a traditional second half semester course without record
October 29, Sunday: Last day to drop a second half cohort or SCS course
November 7, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional full semester course (W)
November 20-26, Monday – Sunday: No chat week for cohort or SCS courses
November 22 – November 26, Wednesday-Sunday: Thanksgiving Break – Traditional Courses
November 29, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional second half semester course (W)
December 3, Sunday: Last day to withdraw from a cohort or SCS second half semester course (W)
December 8, Friday: Traditional Classes end; Cohort and SCS second half semester courses end
December 11 – 14, Monday – Thursday: Fall semester finals (traditional)
December 15, Friday: End of cohort and SCS second half semester courses
December 15, Friday: Residence hall move out day
December 16, 2017 – January 7, 2018: Semester Break, No classes
December 20, Wednesday: Traditional, Cohort and SCS Grades due (12:00 noon)

Spring Semester, 2018 (201820)

January 7, Sunday: Last day to add a cohort or SCS course
January 8, 2018, Monday: Classes begin
(traditional, cohort & SCS)
January 12, Friday: Last day to add a traditional full semester course
Last day to add or drop a traditional first half semester course without record
January 15, Monday: Last day to drop a cohort or SCS course without record
January 15, Monday: Martin Luther King Day, No classes (all students)
January 22, Monday: Last day to drop a traditional full semester course without record
January 22, Monday: Last day to add internships and independent studies
February 12, Monday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional, cohort or SCS first half semester course (W)
February 23, Friday: Classes end for cohort and SCS first half semester

February 23, Friday: Mid-term and end of traditional first half semester courses
February 23, Friday: Deadline for requesting a Pass/No Pass grade (traditional)
February 24 – March 4, Saturday – Sunday: Spring Break Traditional; Cohort and SCS break week
March 4, Sunday: Last day to add a cohort or SCS second half semester course
March 5, Monday: Second half traditional semester courses begin
March 5, Monday: Classes begin for cohort or SCS second half semester
March 9, Friday: Last day to add or drop a traditional second half semester course without record
March 11, Sunday: Last day to drop a Cohort or SCS course without record
March 23, Friday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional full semester course (W)
March 25 – April 1, Sunday-Sunday: Cohort and SCS Easter Break, No classes
March 29 – April 2, Thursday – Monday: Easter Break, No classes (Traditional)
April 11, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from a traditional second half semester course (W)
April 15, Sunday: Last day to withdraw from a Cohort or SCS second half semester course (W)
April: Academic Honors Convocation – to be announced
April 27, Friday – All classes end (Cohort, SCS, and Traditional)
April 30 – May 3, Monday – Thursday: Spring semester finals (Traditional)
May 4, Friday: Residence hall move out day
May 3, Thursday: Grades due for cohort and SCS courses (12:00 noon)
May 4-5: Baccalaureate Service and Commencement Ceremonies – to be announced
May 9, Wednesday: Traditional grades due (12:00 noon)

Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Catalog

Gainful Employment Disclosures

Human Subjects Review

Student Policies Handbook

Annual Campus Crime & Fire Safety Report

The annual Campus Crime & Fire Safety Report can be viewed on the Campus Security Website.