Main navigation

Rev. Dr. Brian Friedrich


The Rev. Dr. Brian Friedrich is the 10th president of Concordia University, St. Paul, officially beginning his tenure on January 1, 2020. A 1979 graduate of Concordia St. Paul, Friedrich is the third CSP alumnus to return to his alma mater as president.

Prior to returning to his alma mater, Friedrich served as President of Concordia University, Nebraska from 2004-2019.

Friedrich held several positions in development and administration at Concordia Nebraska since first arriving at the school in 1991. He served as dean of development and college relations in 1993 before being named assistant to the president in 1994. He was appointed as vice president for institutional advancement in 1997 and was named the president of Concordia Foundation, Inc. in 2003 before being named president in 2004.

Friedrich is a Vice President of the Concordia University System, member of the Colloquy Committee of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod, trustee of Mill Neck Foundation and Lutheran Friends of the Deaf boards, a director of the Council of Independent Colleges of Nebraska, a director of the National Association of the Council of Independent Colleges and Universities, a member of the Seward Rotary Club and St. John Lutheran Church. He was a director of the Nebraska Independent College Foundation Board, past president of the Seward Rotary Club, past chair of the Lutheran Educational Conference of North America (LECNA) Board of Directors, past member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Council of Presidents, past chair of the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Nebraska (AICUN) and past member-at-large of the Association of Lutheran Development Executives (ALDE) Board of Directors. In 2010, he was named ALDE’s Outstanding Executive of the Year.

Friedrich and his wife Laurie, a 1980 graduate of CSP, are blessed with three adult children and one grandchild.


Ph.D., Capella University (2005)
M.Div., Concordia Seminary, St. Louis (1986)
B.A., Concordia College, St. Paul (1979)